

<u>Public Schools of Saskatchewan Announces Student Citizenship</u> Award Winners

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 3, 2022

Public Schools of Saskatchewan today announced its second annual Student Citizenship Award winners at a special ceremony in Saskatoon. The awards recognize initiatives undertaken by public school student groups or classes that support citizenship or character building within their school and community. Three \$1000 awards are presented for Grade 1 to 8 projects and three for high school projects.

"We are proud to celebrate these incredible students and the staff who support them," said Carol Flynn, Public Schools of Saskatchewan vice chair and chair of the citizenship awards selection committee. "These projects highlight the great work that is happening in public schools across our province to educate students about both their rights and their responsibilities as citizens of our pluralistic society."

Winners include:

- MacLeod Elementary School, Moosomin Inspiring Kindness and Community Connections
- Ogema School, kindergarten, grade 1 and 2 class Donation Drive
- College Park School, Lloydminster Student Leadership Council
- Lloydminster Comprehensive High School Small Fires Indigenous Mentorship
- Martensville High School Project Change
- Ecole Debden Public School Mind Your Health

The award presentation ceremony included remarks by the Honourable Dustin Duncan, Minister of Education, and Senator David Arnot, who serves on the Concentus Citizenship Foundation board.

Information on the individual award winners is available on the Public Schools of Saskatchewan website, Twitter feed and Facebook page.

Public Schools of Saskatchewan represents 15 public school boards in the province and advocates for inclusive public education in Saskatchewan

For more information contact: Norm Dray, Executive Director, Public Schools of Saskatchewan, at publicsection@sasktel.net saskpublicschools.ca